Conclusion of the funny rectangles, next steps

I’m so glad I was able to be a part of the thread, even though it was short lived. I felt like such a fan boy when I received a tailored response that I promptly saved it, printed it out, and taped it to my wall. And to think I stumbled on it almost by luck; had he shown up a week before I would have missed the whole thing. Had I not picked up on his writing prose from the single comment I read from him I would have missed it. Wow.

In any case, life moves on and I need to think about what’s next. Next next next. I’ve thought for a while about the question “If I could ask SB anything, what would I ask him?” In that context I think yes, I did get what I wanted out of the thread, at least to the extent that he could have answered the question. I always have and will stand by the thought that I’m not particularly ‘smart’ or have the capacity to ‘get’ things but I’ve always prided myself on long hours of work and a deep desire to complete my goals.

He was nice enough to basically outline the point that he felt he could actually express. I mean really, how to explain how you think and analyze? Impossible. However, to be more analytical, think more. 

“You have to ask questions of your data. Data talks back. Data loves to run its mouth. It will talk to you all day long, but NOT if you don’t ask it intelligent questions.”

I think I’ve done this quite a bit, but perhaps too much in the theory realm. My head maybe just isn’t ready for that. Question not the theory, but the data. The data is whole, living, and complete. the theory is not.

His response confirmed a lot of things I was already doing, and provided some guidance on how to better question the data. The chart example he used is very similar to some of the things I was looking at, and similar to the ‘flat boxes’. It was interesting to see how he picked out points and areas of predictability in areas I saw as random. Random=event that can’t be known ahead of time due to lack of information.

I get excited and re-vigorated easily, mostly because my head can easily imagine possibilities stacking, but I often fail when execution runs out of ideas. Kind of like experiencing a flash of brilliance that quickly fades when the real work comes in. Nevertheless I’m willing to try going down the ‘neo-sb’ route again with some more structure.

I think the first challenge I need to overcome is to more clearly design an abstract that works. This past year has been about gaining knowledge and asking questions. Hopefully this next year will be about highly specific and dedicated research.

Leave a Reply

