H-L range by hour

Here’s a stat I did quite a while ago and just never published. Not very necessary for what I’m doing now, but I figured I’d throw it out there

 

Pip range by hour.

fishing

A lot to this picture. Two ways to see the same thing. On one hand, if I’m looking to catch the big bars, I should stick around until at least 11EST. It starts to dry up fast after London close and by 1500, 77% of the bars are 20 pips or less. London/NY cross gets quite volatile, where close to 85% of the bars that occur in the 0900-1000 hour are at least 20 pips or more. On the other hand, when opening trades in the dead times or right before volatility picks up, the risk to get stopped out with a 20 pip SL is low.

Leave a Reply

